Republic of the Philippines
Republic of the Philippines
1 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT 2600, Australia

The Philippine Embassy in Australia

The Philippine Embassy in Australia is mandated to promote Philippine national interests in the conduct of bilateral relations with Australia, in order to contribute to the well-being, progress and security of the Filipino people and nation.

The Philippine Ambassador in Australia also serves as non-Resident Ambassador to Nauru, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

In accordance with its mandate, the Philippine Embassy in Canberra aims to support the attainment of national security, sustainable development and progress and the reduction of poverty in the Philippines, and the protection and promotion of the rights and welfare of overseas Filipinos.

The Embassy is supported by the presence of the Philippine Consulate General in Sydney, the Philippine Consulate General in Melbourne, the Philippine Honorary Consular Officers in Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Darwin, Hobart in Australia and Port Vila in Vanuatu, the Philippine Overseas Labour Office (Canberra), the Office of the Defense and Armed Forces Attaché (Canberra), the Philippine Trade and Investment Center (Sydney) and the Department of Tourism (Sydney).

Embassy of the Philippines - Canberra, Australia
Ambassador's Residence

The Chancery and Ambassador's Residence

On 01 July 1955, the Philippine Government acquired a leasehold right on 4-acre (16,000 sqm.), residential lot in Canberra on which to build a Chancery and the Ambassador’s Residence.

Mr. Federico Ilustre made the plans for the two buildings. On 18 May 1958, these plans were approved by Mr. Julian Buendia of the Philippine Bureau of Public Works. The approved plans of the two buildings were executed under the direction of architects Moir and Slater of Manuka, ACT. An article in the Canberra Times published on 14 June 1963 reports that Philippine Attaché, Mr. Justine Alfafara, said the headquarters were the first constructed by the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs in an overseas country.

Work on the Chancery and Ambassador’s Residence started on 11 October 1962 and occupied on 24 December 1963. The buildings were inaugurated on 12 June 1964. This was done under the administration of President Diosdado Macapagal with the Honorable Salvador P. Lopez as Secretary of Foreign Affairs and Ambassador Mariano Ezpeleta as Philippine Ambassador to Australia.

The Secretary

Foreign Affairs

Secretary Enrique A. Manalo
Read Biography

The Ambassador


Read Biography

Philippine Ambassadors to Australia

The Philippines and Australia celebrate 75 years of the establishment of diplomatic relations in 2021. The two countries established formal diplomatic relations with the declaration of an independent Philippine Republic on 04 July 1946.

The first Philippine Ambassador to Australia was H.E. Robert Regala who presented his credentials on 24 January 1956. Today, H.E. Ma Hellen B. De La Vega serves as the 15th Philippine Ambassador to Australia. The history of the Philippines-Australia partnership is intertwined with the accomplishments of Philippines Ambassadors who have consistently advanced the national interests of the Philippines. Through their service, they have laid the foundation for the deep and strong bilateral relationship that benefits both our peoples today.

The Philippine Embassy in Australia shares with you the enduring contributions of Philippine Ambassadors in shaping Philippines-Australia relations.