Republic of the Philippines
Republic of the Philippines
1 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT 2600, Australia

PH Embassy Welcomes AU Delegates of the AU Political Exchange Council

/ news


Philippine Embassy, Canberra

1 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT 2600    *Tel. No. 02-6273-2535*

PH Embassy Welcomes AU Delegates of the AU Political Exchange Council

18 August 2023, CANBERRA – Philippine Ambassador to Australia Ma. Hellen B. De La Vega welcomed on 17 August 2023 the 13th Australian delegation participating in the political exchange program organized by the Australian Political Exchange Council. Leading the delegation is The Hon Laura Henderson (née Curran) (Member of Legislative Council, South Australia) and joined by The Hon Peter Foster (Member of Legislative Council, Western Australia), Hume City Mayor Councillor Aitken Ward, Mr. Adam Scott (Acting Assistant State Director - The National Party Victoria), Ms. Michelle Hofman (Principal Solicitor, Hofman Legal); Ms. Emily Bailey (Ministerial Liaison Officer, Western Australian Government), and Mr. Connor Costello (Visits Coordinator, Australian Political Exchange Council Secretariat).

The Australian Political Exchange Council develops young Australian political leaders by providing opportunities to gain insights into the political systems and cultures of countries with which the Council has established exchange programs. In May this year, the Embassy hosted the 14th Philippine delegation to Australia.

The 13th Australian delegation will travel to the Philippines on 18 August 2023 and will visit Bohol Province and Metro Manila where they will engage with national and local government officials, including Philippine alumni of the exchange program.

Ambassador De La Vega gave a briefing on Philippines-Australia relations to provide the participants an overview of the robust and enduring relations of the two countries. – END

Next Post Previous Post