Republic of the Philippines
Republic of the Philippines
1 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT 2600, Australia

Australia Philippines Parliamentary Group Celebrate 75 Years of PH AU Diplomatic Relations

/ news

Australia Philippines Parliamentary Group Celebrate 75 Years of PH AU Diplomatic Relations

17 June 2021 – H.E. Ma. Hellen B. De La Vega, Philippine Ambassador to Australia, hosted a reception at the Ambassador’s Residence on 16 June 2021 in honor of the members of the Australia Philippines Parliamentary Group. The Parliamentary Group is chaired by Mr. Rowan Ramsey MP, Federal Member for Grey, South Australia and co-chaired by Mr. Luke Gosling OAM MP, Federal Member for Solomon, Northern Territory.

In her remarks, Ambassador De La Vega highlighted the shared values of our two countries, as the foundation of the Philippine Australia Comprehensive Partnership. She emphasized the important role and contributions of the Filipino community as the fifth largest migrant community in Australia in deepening people-to-people links. She paid tribute to the important role of the Parliamentary Group in deepening the bilateral relationship in the years to come.

Mr. Ramsey referred to the many areas of cooperation between the two countries in health, education and economic engagement and he said, “In so many fundamental issues, we are in unison.” Mr. Gosling recalled the Filipino mariners who perished in Darwin harbor along with Australian servicemen during the second world war and expressed confidence that the continued growth of the Filipino community will help drive prosperity in Australia.

Also present were Mr. Steve Georganas MP, Mr. Ed Husic MP, Ms. Maria Vamvakinou MP and Mrs. Melissa Mcintosh MP.

The Australia Philippines Parliamentary Group has 31 members from the House of Representatives and Senate of the Parliament of Australia. END

Next Post Previous Post