5-Member UNCLOS Arbitral Tribunal Fully Constituted

25 April 2013- The Department of Foreign Affairs announced today that the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) has appointed the remaining three members of the five-member UNCLOS Arbitral Tribunal including the President that will hear the Statement of the Claim filed by the Philippines against China on the West Philippine Sea.

The members of the Arbitral Tribunal are:

  1. Judge Chris Pinto (Sri Lanka), President;

  2. Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum (Germany), Member, current ITLOS Judge;

  3. Judge Stanislaw Pawlak (Poland), Member, current ITLOS Judge;

  4. Judge Jean-Pierre Cot (France), Member, current ITLOS Judge; and

  5. Judge Alfred Soons (The Netherlands), Member.


ASEAN Member countries reaffirmed the importance of peace, stability and maritime security in the region and the collective commitments under the Declaration of Conduct of Parties in the South China Sea (DOC) ensuring the peaceful resolution of  disputes in accordance with universally recognized principles of international law, including the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, without resorting to the threat or use of force, while exercising self-restraint in the conduct of activities.

ASEAN looks forward to continued engagement with China in implementing the DOC in a full and effective manner, including through mutually agreed joint cooperative activities and projects.

Ministers were tasked to continue to work actively with China on the way forward for the early conclusion of a Code of Conduct (COC) on the basis of consensus.

Bids and Awards